Courses are associated with grading periods in Schoology. At the end of the grading period, the course will be archived. The course will no longer display in the Courses list, making room for new courses. When a course is archived, Course Admins with permission to view archived courses can view the course in the Archived area of My Courses indefinitely.
Seven days prior to the end of a grading period, you may see a message at the top of Schoology with a warning that the grading period will end. In the course profile, you may also see a message at the top of the course with details regarding the approaching end date. After the end date of the grading period, courses are not archived until a 24 to 30-hour grace period has passed.
If a course you administer has disappeared from the Courses, it may have been archived.
To view archived courses:
- Click Courses at the top of the page.
- Click My Courses on the right.
- From the My Courses area, click Archived to view past courses.
How do I reactivate an archived course?
If you'd like to reactivate an archived course and keep the same course material and roster of students for a longer period of time, extend the life of the course by adding a grading period. This process may vary based on how your organization provisions courses and enrollments.
If you're the System Administrator for the Enterprise version of Schoology, you can change the dates of the grading period. Changing the dates of the grading period affects all courses in your school or organization that are associated with the grading period.