Course and Group Messages

Course and Group messages allow admins to send a Schoology message to all members of the course or group. To send a course or group message:

  1. Click the course or group that you administer.
  2. Click Course [or Group] Options from the menu.
  3. Click Send Message.
  4. Enter a subject for the message.
  5. Enter your message.
  6. Click Send to complete. 

    Note: Once a message is sent, it can only be deleted from the sender's inbox. Deleting it will not delete it on the receiving end. 

In addition, Course Admins can send messages from these locations:

  • Gradebook
  • Grading Groups
  • District Mastery
  • Edit a material's scores

Teachers can also message individual students wherever an envelope icon is displayed.

These messages will be sent to individual members of your course or group. When users reply to the message, the correspondence will remain private between you and the member. For more public exchanges, where members may interact with each others' responses, you may consider using a discussion.


Note: Sending a message to All Members refers to all enrolled participants listed in the Members area of the course. This will send the message to users enrolled as members and admins. The All Members option does not include parents who are associated with the members.