Course and Group Moderation

On this page


Course and Group Moderation allows you to monitor members' comments before publication. When moderation is enabled, you must approve each update, comment, or response in the course or group before it is available to other members of your group.

Enable Moderation

GIF of how to enable moderation for a course.

  1. Click Courses or Groups and select the course or group you'd like to moderate.
  2. Click on the Course Options or Group Options in the menu.
  3. Select Moderate.
  4. Click Enable Moderation.
  5. Click Enable to complete.

    Note: When a student posts an update or comment in the course or group that is moderated, they'll receive the message: "Your update post is pending moderator approval."

Approve or Delete Pending Comments

GIF of how to approve or delete pending comments on a course.

  1. Click Moderate as it appears from your course when there are pending updates and comments.
  2. Alternatively, select Moderate Posts from Course Options.
  3. Check the box from each comment you'd like to approve, and click on the Approve button.
  4. Or, check the box from each comment you'd like to delete and click on the Delete button.

    Note: To approve or delete all pending comments, click the check box for the Approve button, and select the option to Approve or Delete.

Disable Moderation

  1. Click Courses or Groups and select the course or group you'd like to moderate.
  2. Click Course Options or Group Options.
  3. Select Moderate Posts.
  4. Click Disable Moderation.
  5. Click Disable to complete.

View Deleted Updates and Comments

GIF of how to view deleted updates and comments

  1. Click Courses or Groups and select the course or group you'd like to review deleted comments.
  2. Click on Course Options or Group Options.
  3. Select Moderate Posts.
  4. Click on the Deleted link from the Pending area.